Skip to content

Spring Break 2011: Punta Cana

March 8, 2011

Photo Courtesy of StudentCity.com

So after a a summer filled with a full time job, an internship and moving away from my childhood home;  an unexpected emergency surgery over Christmas break; and jam-packed half semester full of classes that I didn’t actually need to take (but have always secretly wanted to),  it is time to give myself a much needed break. This means two words: Spring Break.

Full disclosure, three of my good friends and I have been plotting this since before Halloween. We know that this is our last semester. We know that on the off chance that we get a job post-graduation we will have ZERO time to travel (kidding- but not really). And we know that this is the last time we are actually allowed to do something somewhat irresponsible. So this left us one question: Where do we want to go?

Although several of us had actually been to Mexico in the past two years (fun fact: I was actually in Cancun two months before the swine flu pandemic), our concerns for the recent drug war-related violence steered us away from that option. The fact that we are all now 21 allowed for more options than the past (namely ones in the continental US), including Las Vegas and New Orleans. But my group had our hearts set on the Caribbean.  So after vacillating back and forth between Jamaica and the Bahamas, we eventually decided to go with the Dominican Republic. Punta Cana, to be specific.

What we didn’t know in October, is that Punta Cana is THE place for Spring Breakers this year. This means that our idyllic beach vacation will most likely turn into something resembling an MTV special. Is this a bad thing? No. Am I a little nervous that my liver is not up to this challenge? A little. Am I excited to the point where after my last midterm I did a little happy dance in the middle of Comm Ave? You Betcha.

So as I scramble to perform all of the necessary pre-beach vacation grooming rituals, and prepare to leave at the unholy hour of 5:50 AM, I will inevitably see you all on the (hopefully tanned) flip side.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    March 10, 2011 9:54 pm

    Hahaha you say that as if you actually have to be 21 to drink on Bourbon Street..

Leave a Reply

