Skip to content

Radian6 Social 2011

April 7, 2011

Hi all! I will be live blogging/ tweeting from the Radian 6 user conference Social 2011 today which I am lucky enough to attend on behalf of my New Media and PR class as well as my internship at Boston University. Follow me at @skops and expect posts later today/tomorrow!

7:15AM: Leave my apartment and walk to my parking lot to find that my car battery has died. {Sigh} Reach into my bag to call AAA to find that my phone, which had been charging all night, will not turn on. {Double Sigh}

7:23 AM: Make my way up Babcock Street and jump into a cab. Cab driver asks me if we can take the Mass Pike. I say fine. Then cabbie turns around and tells me that the credit card machine doesn’t work (lies). I inform him I do not have any cash as I was not expecting to take a cab. He insists that the hotel will have ATM.

7:47 AM: Arrive at Marriott Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, which is absolutely beautiful. ATM is indeed in lobby but charges a $3 transaction fee {Triple Sigh}

7:52 AM: Arrive at Social 2011!!! Get my credentials (they spelled my name wrong but I’ll let it slide) and todays schedule. Wander into banquet room for coffee and some swag (free water bottles!)

8:30 AM: Music intro cues Radian6 CEO Marcel LeBrun to take the stage. Gives background of Radian6 and touches on merger with Salesforce (which gets cheers from the crowd).

9:17 AM: Marcel LeBrun finished his introduction and announces Radian6 Insights. Platform that allows you to take semantic insights and translate them into your social searches. Insights lets you plug in the best of the best tech into one integrated experience.

9:33 AM: Panelists from Klout, OpenCalais, Open Amplify and Radian6 Product Management take the stage to discuss Insights

9:45 AM: Keynote speakers from Dell announced. Karen Quintos (Cheif Marketing Officer) steps up to talk about Dell’s interaction with Social Media. How Dell interfaces with consumers, promotes advocacy and LISTENS to customers.

10:00AM: Adam Brown (Executive Director, Social Media) steps up and opens with mantra “Demonstrable ROI is the new norm”

11:05 AM: AND WE’RE BACK. Wifi shortage put live blogging on hold for the moment. Now sitting into “7 Shifts to Make Businesses Faster, Smarter & More Social” breakout session with Radian6’s Amber Naslund

12:00 PM: Break for Lunch. Good spread too! Stopped to pick up a copy of the book Amber co-authored with Jay Baer. Thanks Radian6! Will venture out into the training sessions in a bit

1:10 PM: Back in Keynote room awaiting some more new product announcements

1:12 PM: Music and graphics cues Chris Ramsey, Executive Vice President to take the stage. Announces New Summary Dashboard and Invites Product Manager Sandeep Singh to walk us through it

1:14 PM: Hitting some technical snags… Singh quips “It doesn’t require training but it does require a good network connection”

1:17 PM: Its up! Dashboard looks cool, brings everything to the front with clear labels and categories.

1:25 PM: Learned that each cube of info has customizable URL that can literally be plopped into a webpage as a widget. It is also tablet and moblie friendly.

1:31 PM: Radian6 Mobile is announced! Chris Ramsey calls it “More than just river of news on a iphone” This means easy engagement on the go. Also tracks back to the engagement console in your office, so the whole team can see what you are doing as well.

1:36 PM: Big question…How much does it cost? It’s included in the standard Radian6 package! Currently under review by Apple, should be available soon.

2:02 PM: Opted for the aptly named “Unconference” this time. Case study with Intel on Crisis Management and talk on the impact of SM and real-time media on TV

2:18 PM: Intel shares some blunders. One involving the “sprinter” print ad that was perceived as racist on SM. Begs the question: is it Okay to tweet a crisis that someone is kind enough to share with you? I do NOT want to negatively influence their brand but the case is very interesting.

2:30 PM: Mike Proulx from Hill Holiday switches gears to talk about how TV Gets Social: Measuring “Resonance”

2:50 PM: Graphic-heavy presentation brings home the message that resonance is KEY to making a lasting impression with TV. Loved the clips from Jimmy Fallon, Modern Family, Glee and the VW Superbowl 2011 Spot.

3:00 PM: Recharging my batteries (both literally and figuratively), plan to venture over to one of the training sessions when I have a little more juice in my Mac

3:47 PM: First time all day my battery life was over 30%…

4:17 PM: Waiting on keynote #3, President of Twist Image & New York Times Best Seller Mitch Joel

5:11 PM: Mitch Joel is amazing! (despite semi-condescending comments directed at people in their early 20s) The Canadian marketing guru gave some inspiring words on evolving consumer commerce.

5:55 PM: And thats a wrap! I hope you enjoyed my live blog experience. I now have to drag my butt to the apple store and get my power cord fixed. More in depth summaries to come tonight and tomorrow!

(Sidenote– I am RT’ing twitpics because sadly my phone is not functioning at the moment)

Crowd analysis: The audience of the conference is an interesting mix of industry professionals, people working in SM for specific companies, (whether they be consumer or B2B), Marketing and PR executives from agencies and the odd intern (like myself). Radian6 staff are numerous and extremely helpful, wearing bright blue and green shirts for distinguishability. They were just as upset about the wifi shortage as we were!

General insights from Twitter: Wifi going down was a major boo boo (but sadly common at conferences). Free Waterbottles are great, and the one from Social 2011 does not disappoint, but it might have been nice to let us know that there was a piece of paper in there before we filled it up.

Other general impressions: I am slightly overdressed. Me, mentally prepping for a PR conference, chose to wear a pencil skirt, blouse and blazer like a normal day at the office. While some people are dressed in business casual, there are also a lot of people wearing jeans and sweaters. This experience would also be a lot more pleasant if I did not have to run to an outlet between each session, but that is a matter for the Apple store to deal with.

Special thanks to Radian6 for the chance to come here and for upping my Twitter followers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

